Income & Art

The topic of income and art together is quite unsettling for me. I feel like money can too easily influence and corrupt art, just like politics and religion. However, at the end of the day it is a business that you have going for yourself (if it is your main source of income), and LIFE IS NOT FREE. Everyone wants to live comfortably and that means knowing what you’re worth in monetary value. Know your value and appreciate it, like Kanye knows Kanye’s value.

kanye

A thought provoking question, and the whole premises of the module was, how do I want to get paid? To answer that we have to start with the question, how do I want to work?

Ideally, after my studies (with a sizeable portfolio of work)  I would like to join a company. This company would give me a range of experience on diverse projects so I can absorb different knowledge and skills. Then I would like to do my own freelance work and work from home (so I can spend time with my pets – I understand they’re not welcome in offices… no please, allow me to tiptoe around others’ life threatening allergies).

If successful on joining a company, I’d like to stay there for a while before I start on my own freelancing. Which leads me to the biggest struggle identified this week, which was how to get enough money to fund the creation of independent films.

There was a number of ways:

  • Crowdfunding – networking and social media are key here.
  • Funding – where your idea has to be so ready to go, that all you actually require is the money. Places that help funding are: Screen Queensland, Screen Australia, Australia Council for the Arts etc. Or if you’re early in your career you could consider australiacouncil.gov.au or awesome foundation.org.
  • Sponsorship from companies that want to be represented in your film.
  • Side job

There are many classic Australian movies that have been Goverment funded, some of these, according to Marks (2014) are Muriel’s Wedding (1994), Rabbit-proof Fence (2002) and Red Dog (2011).

If anything, this is a signifier of the financial struggles that filmmakers go through. This says to me that I need to be extremely organised when I go into it. Which has always been something that I’m bad at.

We finally did an exercise where we had to plan a business for the future. This exercise alone helps to imagine the future in realistic terms.
Even though I’m still not 100% sure on the path I’m wanting to take, I feel like I can start thinking about it properly with more confidence in how the finance in film works.

money

 

 

 

Bibliography

Marks, K. (2014). 10 classic Australian films that were government fundedthe Guardian. Retrieved 12 June 2016, from https://www.theguardian.com/film/australia-culture-blog/2014/may/02/10-classic-australian-films-that-required-government-funding

 

Leave a Reply

