Professional Identity

This week’s module basically motivated me to imagine and plan my career. When I first thought about it, I felt like I was on a fast downhill train with no breaks at night, knowing there’s an important stop somewhere ahead. This perfectly describes my nerves/anxiety/apprehension and excitement when it comes to planning my career. Or put more simply, like Noel Fielding from The Mighty Boosh depicted below.

elements of the future

It is extremely hard as a creative to do this, however it is so important to have a plan otherwise you have no direction.

“You can’t work towards something if you don’t know where you’re going.”  (Week 1: Overview & Your “Professional” Identity (2015), Self-Directed Practitioners)

The Overview of Industry questionnaire really helped me think about my future career in ways I hadn’t thought of yet, and if I had thought of them I had never actually written them down or completed the thoughts in such a concrete way. Under the presumption that I will be making short films, I thought about the fact that employers are probably looking for reliability and skill. Also that I need to spread my wings in the area of technical ability of camera use and editing software to grow my skills so I can then market to a more diverse range of people.

For example I have a camera at home, a Panasonic GH4, so I like to experiment with that. But as I haven’t had much time to be on it with study etc, I’m still not 100% familiar with it and that bugs me. But in really I’d rather read a book or write. This behaviour shows me I’m more interested in screenwriting and stories than the technical side of film. So I’ll have to invest more time into my camera to balance my tech skills out.

I plan on reaching my market by entering and/or frequenting film festivals, starting to the ones closest to me in Queensland:

  • Brisbane Backyard Film Festival
  • Capricorn Film Festival
  • Future Shorts Film Festival
  • Brisbane International Film Festival
  • FilmFantastic Gold Coast Film Festival
  • In The Bin Film Festival

The Overview of Industry Questionnaire really helped me think of other factors I would have otherwise overlooked, like the importance of having open communication with critics and journalists in an effort to not only explain my work but take them on my creative journey with me so they can show others the process behind my work.

A site called raindance.org agree with this, “Listening is a really important part of social media – something that the big corporate companies have learned. Companies like Nike, Dell, Ford and Comcast have realised the valued of engaging their customers on social media and developed very sophisticated ways of tapping into their customer (audience).” (Grove, 2013)

Also data! I had literally never thought of how data could ever possibly factor in when it comes to marketing my work. But when I thought about it, data is everywhere in film. The best example I can think of is the views I might receive on youtube for a piece of work that I do. The views would be directly related to the name of my work, the synopsis, the length and the image icon I used to represent it. With more films and therefore more data, I will be able to see what catches the audience’s attention with certain styles and key words, and then I can decide if I want it to let this data influence my work.

The module also taught me that there’s two main forms of work. Collaborative and entrepreneurism. I imagine I would like to start off my career in a collaborative environment, I love working in a team and bouncing ideas off people. I have come to understand that in collaborative work, shared understanding is crucial! This means blogging, writing everything down, communicating, critiquing etc. It may also get very competitive, which is quite unnerving as my own personality is not very competitive. If it were up to me, everyone would be successful and we can all be happy in our success together. However I know this is far from reality.

But failure isn’t not getting a job, or thinking of a bad idea. Failure is no longer trying.

 

 

 

I have never thought about my future as much as I have after reading this module. I feel like I have a broader depth of knowledge and understanding when it comes to the good and bad parts of being a creative professional, and the important factors I had once overlooked. I feel more confident now that I can plan my future career from a more informed standpoint!

And when I’m really in doubt, it’s people like these who help me believe I can do anything I want.

 

 

Bibliography:

Week 1: Overview & Your “Professional” Identity — Self-Directed Practitioners. (2015). Medium. Retrieved 11 June 2016, from https://medium.com/self-directed-practitioners/week-1-overview-your-professional-identity-d3037f34cb8e#.paiyj1g9u

Grove, E. (2013). Social Media For Filmmakers: Start With the Basics – RaindanceRaindance. Retrieved 11 June 2016, from http://www.raindance.org/social-media-for-filmmakers-start-with-the-basics/
Leave a Reply

