Jess & Adam’s Wedding

I was asked by a friend to help shoot a wedding that she was involved in!

There were 3 camera-people including myself. The responsibility of capturing audio and lighting was also shared between us. We did ALLUVIT. This will be good for my future, learning to do all aspects of film so I can be comfortable with more responsibility as my experience widens and diversifies. 

Equipment: We used some NTG-4 microphones attached to our Canon C100 cameras. On my camera I attached a 20-70mm lens so I could get close-ups of the detail put into the bride’s hair, makeup and dress. At the venue we set up some Dedo LED lights around the room of the ceremony/dancing area which came across beautifully in the footage we captured.

For this wedding it was easier with 3 of us rather than the two of us for the last wedding I did. I’ve also realised that there is a heavy element of winging it and thinking on your feet as the schedule changes lots throughout the day. This happened with both weddings so this makes me feel it might be a common element to them.

Naturally I prefer this type of shooting (as you may have noticed from my other experiences) because I can think creatively on my feet and that generally turns out better than expected. But it can also be disadvantageous if we’re not organised, for example with a lighting set up. The biggest issue that disorganisation at a wedding causes – that I’ve found – is it is imperative to capture all the beautiful, raw moments. If I’m setting up lighting or shooting something else and miss a moment that I didn’t know was going to happen, I would atleast want to bury myself in a hole and never come back. This actually happened at the last wedding I shot, the bride threw her bouquet and my camera chose then to entirely fill the SD card and allow no more footage (note: I have recovered footage of this from other cameras but the fact that I missed it myself was super disappointing). So to save humiliation and self-loathing, it is always helpful to have some sort of rough plan and to be in constant communication with someone who is NOT the bride and groom but also know what’s going on.

My main responsibility for the day was to capture the bride from getting ready through the reception where we shared the load a bit more. One of my crew was filming the husband and the other did the reception.

Here is a 30 second snippet of the footage that I filmed, not the audio as the external microphone wasn’t attached at this point. I haven’t touched any of the footage – it’s completely raw. I’ve only cut the shots into sequence and added music. >>DISCLAIMER: I put it in a sequence with a non-copyright song (Lady of Sunshine by Lady of the Sunshine) as I don’t intend on using this clip in the final edit of this wedding (attached at the end is the final film).

Here is an example of the audio with visual aids. The NTG-4 is a shotgun microphone, which means it’s sensitive area is right in front (meaning it only picks up sound from directly in front of it) and the noise around the sides is largely cancelled out. Below is the polar patterns of each major type of microphone. Click here to jump on another useful site that teaches heaps about this stuff.

I’ve left the visual footage attached so you can see that when the subjects are directly in front of me the voices are crisp and coherent. As soon as the father walks out of the frame, and out of the sensitive area of the microphone his voice becomes significantly quieter. This kind of microphone is ideal in large settings where ambient and external noises could become overbearing or a distraction to the main subject.

Together me and my team ended up getting 96GB of footage. Sifting through it all will be gruelling to say the least, but fortunately it’s a beautiful wedding so it’s not sore on the eyes at all 🙂

Now sit back and wait for me to turn it into something beautiful that the couple can keep for the rest of their lives. Some call me…

…others call me Rianna.

 

 

WATCH IN HD OR NOTHING

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

