Week 1

Pitches. Pitches. Pitches.

This week we had to pitch the ideas to the class about a possible web series to shoot, what a quick way to be reaquainted with friends!

I had been planning my idea for a couple weeks now.

The idea

A comedy that spotlights and explores the lower socio-economic issues of today’s generation. 

Two bogan girls, Maz and Jorja, and her brother Mason all live North Melbourne, Victoria. This group are dependent on the doll, and live their life as cheaply as possible, with minimal focus on their studies.
Mason introduces his new girlfriend, Cadence, who’s more upper class and incidentally  causes friction of jealousies and judgments between the group.
Through the piss ups, the BBQs, smoking and police, Jorja and Mason’s dying dad becomes a stimulus of fights, new alliances and growing.

The log line

Two gen Y girls living on a budget run into trouble when drugs and alcohol wreak havoc in their relationships… especially when their sick straight-edge dad comes to stay with them.

Inspirations:

Housos, Broad City & Kath & Kim

 

 

Presentation Reflection

I hadn’t realised we required a powerpoint presentation, so in a 5 minute break I quickly typed one out. It wasn’t great to say the least.

It was text heavy and unclear.

So I stumbled over my words and couldn’t think clearly, so my thoughts were jumbled and I somehow simply forgot the whole concept of structuring a sentence.  
The problem was, I had a couple of different ideas of episodes and only remembered half of the events and tried to non-chronologically smoosh them together to make one long ‘pilot’ because I couldn’t separate my ideas.
It was confusing to the audience, to the lecturers and to me, but hopefully I everyone got the gist of my idea.mf

 

 

 

 

 

Even though I messed up this pitch, the lecturers said that the best way to learn things is to make mistakes. So because of my mistakes giving this pitch, I LEARNT:

  1. Assume more is required than expected.
  2. Be prepared. Write out presentations earlier with more fully developed ideas.
  3. Relax. Then breathing will be normal and ideas and sentences will flow better.
  4. Make eye contact and maintain a connection with the audience.
  5. Be passionate about the topic! Why would others want to work on this if I, the creator, don’t?
  6. Hook the audience. Find a hook and really play on it, leave the audience thinking about the idea long after you’ve finished pitching.
  7. Only say necessary information relevant to characters and main plot points – don’t lose the audience’s attention with unimportant details.
  8. Use more visual stimulus than text. The audience won’t read long texts and pictures help them to visualise the idea.

It is so important to get pitches right because they are what gets you jobs in the industry. So if anything, have passion, be clear and believe in it!

At this point, I’ll be happy to be either showrunner or director.

If I am to work on someone else’s film, my preferences are:

  • Co-writer
  • Director
  • DOP
  • 1st Assistant Camera

I know I’m good at directing and writing, but I want to boost my camera skills so I’ll be doing alot more research on cameras during the next few weeks and will document about my newest findings!

Leave a Reply

